In May 2017, Bridgnorth Town Council resolved to disband the the Property & Grounds Committee, Administration and General Purposes Committee, the Christmas Committee and the CCTV Committee with full Council meetings twice each month on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday. This is with the exception of August, when no meetings are held and December when only one meeting will be held on the 2nd Tuesday of the month. Without being prescriptive, the first meeting each month will normally, in addition to other matters, consider matters currently dealt with by the Property & Grounds Committee, while the second meeting will prioritise financial matters.

The Planning Committee now operates remotely and when meetings are called, the public are welcome to sit in on the meetings throughout the public sessions.

The Christmas Committee after being resurrected in 2017, amalgamated with the Events Working Group to form the Events and Christmas Working Group. In July 2021, it converted to a Committee.

Planning Committee

Bridgnorth Town Council’s Planning Committee consists of five Members of Council.

This Committee considers on average 160 applications each year varying from tree works, property extensions, new builds, Listed Building Consent, replacement windows, change of use and erection of boundary walls to name but a few. The Planning Committee is currently the only Committee of the Town Council that has delegated powers, meaning they have authority to pass resolutions on all planning matters at Planning Committee meetings.  This means that they do not have to wait for their recommendation to be ratified by Town Council by means of a resolution before they are submitted to Shropshire Council, although the minutes of the meetings are still taken to Town Council for ratification.

The Committee’s role is purely advisory; they have no planning powers; this lies with Shropshire Council.  The Shropshire Planning Authority takes their comments into consideration however, as well as those submitted by residents of the town and interested parties.

As of March 2020, the Planning Committee gave delegated authority to Officers to formulate responses to planning applications; taking into consideration the views of members. For complex planning matters, the Chairman can call an extraordinary meeting to discuss applications in more detail. All planning applications can be found on Shropshire Council’s planning portal https://www.shropshire.gov.uk/planning/applications/viewing-planning-applications/ where comments from other consultees and members of the public can be found. If you have an interest in a particular application, you can either speak to the Planning Department at Shropshire Council or with one of our Planning Committee members.

Committee Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference